Outdoors

University wasn’t all indoors studio time. Even in the colder months I was shooting landscapes, architecture and portraiture.

In my later uni years I spent a lot of time doing landscapes that were changed in some way, shape or form. I added intrigue and created these sweeping panoramas of mystery. Below is the right hand side of one of them.

pano-mud-red-hat-1-for-print

But earlier on, I was very black and white and thoughtful. But there was almost always that underlying nature theme. One project called Invading was all about human-kind and nature and their fight against each other.

I believe Invading was the first project I did that wasn’t part of University.

The outside was never really a place I contemplated as being a studio. Saying the world is a massive studio with endless hours of natural light, between the moments of dreaming sleep.

Now I know it can be whatever you make of it. I’m taking my idea of alternative landscapes and turning them into small sections of tightly knit macro portraiture. So began my first real segment of TALU, with the yet to be titled project of documenting nature with a studio setting outdoors.

Leave a Reply

