Indoors

Photographing in a studio was a boat load of fun. I made a lot of mess and created some great sets and scenes. Going to University (and studying Photography) gives you the freedom to go a bit mental and create thrilling, unique, crazy photographs.

dsc_0689

We covered various genres and still-life was the one that really stuck out to me. portraiture was great, sure, but for me, not being a great people person, and also not really knowing how to handle a person, it was hard. With still-life you can move and tweak things to your hearts content.

I used to love sweating in the constant heat of the Tungsten lighting, trying to get the perfect shot, while running around barefoot and leaping over the cables and lying on my stomach.

tulips1

Most of my days were spent in the studio, hence that’s probably why I was a much better photographer than I was journalist (joint honours degree). In fact, my photographer lecturer was constantly asking me to quit journalism and take photography full time. At the time, my passion was to be a features writer. Now, whenever I see him, he’s still saying that I should have dropped journalism. And now, more than ever, I agree with him.

I don’t regret it. There’s no sense in regretting things, you just have to build on what you’ve learnt and develop what you almost learnt. It’s like taking a photograph and realising your composition is wrong in some way and you either move the camera or you tweak an object and suddenly it’s perfect. That’s life.

 

Leave a Reply

